This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Rwanda

Rwanda is made up of 5 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Rwanda. Information on all primary administrative regions in Rwanda.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Rwanda alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Rwanda

There are 5 regions in Rwanda in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Rwanda
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Northern Province Northern Province1.1,726,370Byumba Byumba70,593
Western Province Western Province2.2,471,348Kibuye Kibuye48,024
Kigali Kigali Province3.965,398Kigali Kigali745,261
Southern Province Southern Province4.2,589,975Nyanza Nyanza-
Eastern Province Eastern Province5.2,600,812Rwamagana Rwamagana47,203